The Chicken or The Egg

The age old question of which came first.  In the coworking world, the question boils down to whether to get a space first or build a group of members.  Common wisdom from many sources is to get a community of at least ten people to commit to memberships before opening a coworking space.  I believe there almost always are exceptions to every rule.  Please do not get me wrong I agree wholeheartedly with the community first mindset of coworking.   There must be an ability to understand the needs of the city and those that will use the space.  There is a large difference in opening a coworking space in a city of several million people and Loveland, population 60,000.  What I have run into in my city is a number of people that are intrigued by coworking and would like to check it out if we had a space.  They are hesitant to join the community without a space to identify with.

In internet startups there is a movement of people advocating a “Lean Startup” model.  This model, simply put, attempts to put a product out to the public before it is perfected to test the founder’s hypothesis and gain valuable feedback from early adaptors.  From their testing and the feedback they gather the company makes adjustments for their future progress.  At this point in my catalyst journey and from the input of those interested in coworking, I am beginning to see the need for a Lean Coworking Office in Loveland.  I started looking at commercial real estate with the dream space in mind, but see that as something to grow towards not start with.  The space I am most interested in would be small (~650 sf) but would have all the basics a coworking community would need.  So with a nervousness in my stomach and an excitement as I look towards the future, I am working towards starting a Lean Coworking Office in Loveland.

Stay tuned for updates….

Leave a Reply

